vai al contenuto della pagina vai al menu di navigazione


Founded in 1998, the Collegio has been managed by Professor Beatrice Fraboni since 2019.

It was set up under the Rectorship of Fabio Alberto Roversi Monaco with the goal of creating an academic centre of excellence. Since 1998, there have been five Rectors Director/Head with Professor Beatrice Fraboni being the most recent academic to take on the role in 2019.

The Directors/Head

Luca Ciotti

Between 2012 and July 2019, the Collegio Superiore was managed by the Astrophysicist Luca Ciotti. He oversaw the digitalisation of the entrance exam process and a review of the teaching regulations, as well as the implementation of initiatives to strengthen and systematise teaching, student careers, tutoring and the Collegio's technical-administrative services. In 2013, the Collegio moved to the Terzo Millennio Residence in Borgo Panigale and in 2018 the process of moving to its new location in Irnerio Residence in Piazza Puntoni began. Thanks to the endeavour of professors Emilio Ferrari (Rector of the ISS), Patrizia Brigidi (Director ISA) and Luca Ciotti, in 2014 the administrative office of the Institute for Higher Studies was initially set up in via Petroni 26, and was later moved to Palazzo Marchesini in via Marsala 26 where some teaching and scientific activities also take place.

Paolo Leonardi

Between 2006 and 2012 the Collegio Superiore was managed by the Philosopher Paolo Leonardi, Director of the Collegio Superiore and of the Institute for Higher Studies. Thanks to his perseverance and the significant support of the Rector Ivano Dionigi, the ISS was incorporated into the new University Charter in 2012. Article 26, paragraph 2 of the University Charter describes the Collegio Superiore as a “means of harnessing and developing the talent of students over the three study cycles” and of offering “high calibre, interdisciplinary programmes that supplement those offered by other parts of the University”.

Dario Braga

Between 2001 and 2006, the Collegio was managed by the Chemist Dario Braga who, with the support of the Rector Pier Ugo Calzolari, established the Collegio Superiore site and reorganised the teaching programme, offering students the possibility to supplement their degree programmes with other curricular courses and seminars. He also established the role of the Tutor, was responsible for achieving accreditation of the Collegio both within and outside of the University, and for initiating the process to integrate the Collegio with other centres of excellence of the Alma Mater Studiorum, in particular with the Institute of Advanced Studies.

Andrea Battistini

Between the date of its foundation in 1998 and 2001, the Collegio was managed by the Italian professor Andrea Battistini who ensured from the outset that the Collegio’s activities followed the interdisciplinary approach that is now the hallmark of its academic programmes.

Board of Admissions

The Board of Admissions was presided over by Maria Laura Bolognesi (2018, 1st cycle), Armando Bazzani (2018, 2nd cycle), Tiziana Lazzari (2017, 1st cycle), Maria Laura Bolognesi (2017, 2nd cycle), Giovanni Perini (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016), Simone Martini (2011, 2012), Giovanni Perini (2010), Giovanni Geraci (2007, 2008, 2009), Antonio Contestabile (2005, 2006), Paolo Leonardi (2002, 2003, 2004), Dario Braga (2001), Paolo Pombeni (1999, 2000), Antonio Faeti (1998).